WNC Legislator Profiles

Click on a name to see the full profile. (More coming soon!)


Senator Ralph Hise. District 47, Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford and Yancey counties.

Senator Tom Apodaca. District 48, Buncombe, Henderson and Transylvania counties.

Senator Terry Van Duyn. District 49, Buncombe County


Map_of_NC_Senate_Districts copy



Representative John Ager, District 115, Buncombe County.

Representative Chuck McGrady. District 117, Henderson County.

Representative Roger West. District 120, Cherokee, Clay, Graham and Macon counties.


Map_of_NC_House_Districts copy

Western North Carolina is blessed with more than 1.5 million acres of public land, including Nantahala-Pisgah National Forest, Great Smoky Mountains National Park, the Blue Ridge Parkway and several state-owned parks, forests and natural areas. These public lands support the headwaters of our rivers, beautiful mountain vistas, one of the most diverse temperate forests on the planet, and a thriving economy in tourism, crafts and recreation.
During its 30-year history, WNCA (now MountainTrue) has twice prevented logging in the Asheville Watershed, first in 1990 and again in 2004. Eventually the City of Asheville placed a conservation easement over 17,356 acres of the watershed.