Board of Directors


Chair, David Matz
Financial Advisor, Edward Jones; Buncombe County

Vice-Chair, Kimberly Hunter
Entrepreneurship Program Manager, Mountain Bizworks | Buncombe County

Treasurer, Grady Nance
Energy Expert | Henderson County

Secretary, Kimberly Price
Asst. Professor, Lenoir-Rhyne University | Buncombe County

At-Large Executive Committee Member | JeWana Grier-McEachin
Executive Director, Asheville-Buncombe Institute for Parity Achievement (ABIPA) | Buncombe County

Deke Arndt
Chief of the Monitoring Branch of the National Centers for Environmental Information | Buncombe County

George Austin
Accountant, Austin CPA, PC | Buncombe County

Katie Breckheimer
Community Volunteer | Henderson County

David Brooks
Managing Partner, Value Partners, LLC | Avery County

Vicki Greene
Retired Public Servant | Jackson County

Greer Gunby
Graphic Artist and Photographer | Transylvania County

Moriah Heaney
Marketing & Development Associate, Mountain BizWorks | Polk County

Jesse Miller
Insurance Agent, First Security Insurance | Watauga County

Jack Poisson
Attorney | Buncombe County

Maria Rusafova
Architect, Rusafova Markulis Architects | Buncombe County

We value mountain communities that are vibrant, livable, and respectful of their connection to and dependence on the region’s natural environment.
We value the integrity of natural systems – air, land, water, and native plants and animals – and believe in protecting and restoring them for the benefit of all generations.